Boys Cross Country

2017 Boys Cross Country Team

2017 Season Review

The boys cross country team saved its strongest races for the end of the season, closing with three strong efforts. The team finished third in both the sectional and regional, marking the first time in four seasons that the program finished third or better in either race. The third-place finish at regional represented just the fourth time in the last 22 years that the program finished third or better at regional. The following week, the Rebels ran their best race of the season at the semi-state, finishing 13th out of 20 teams in the state’s most competitive field. The 13thplace finish matched the second-best semi-state finish in program history (tied with the 2013 team) and trails only the 2006 team, which finished 12th. During the regular season, the Rebels won the Greenfield-Central Invitational for the program’s first invitational title since 2013. At Greenfield, 30 of the 40 varsity and JV runners who raced, established new personal bests.

For the second straight year, junior Nick Perkins had the best season in program history. He became the program’s first postseason champion, winning the New Palestine sectional by two seconds with a time of 16:48. The following week, he won the Rushville regional by three seconds with a time of 16:57. At the semi-state, he finished 22nd in a time of 16:04, which enabled him to qualify for the state championships. He is only the program’s third state qualifier and the first since 2001. At the state championships, he ran 16:39 and finished 112th in a field of 208. His winning time at the GreenfieldCentral Invitational of 15:58 is three seconds off his school record and the third-fastest time in school history. His efforts at the Circle City Championships (third) and Marion County Championships (eighth) earned him allmeet honors in both races.

The Rebels ran the same varsity lineup in all three state tournament races. At the semi-state, all four sophomores – Sam George, Owen Herndon, Ryan Flick and Liam Irwin – matched or exceed their personal bests. Senior Dave Schrader ran his season’s best time at semi-state and senior Jason Croddy ran his second-best time of the season.

Perkins was named the team’s MVP and seniors Chandler Gibson and David Schrader each won the team’s mental attitude award. Irwin won the team’s varsity most improved award and Nathan Cleveland was the JV team’s most improved runner. The Indiana Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches (IATCCC) selected Seniors Dave Schrader and Jason Croddy to the Academic All-State team. Junior Michael Runholt was picked to the honorable mention Academic All-State team by the IATCCC.