Boys Soccer

2018 Varsity Boys Soccer Team

2018 Season Review

After four straight trips to the sectional final, the boys soccer team broke through and captured the program’s eighth sectional title and first since 2011. The Rebels defeated Greenwood (5-2) and Whiteland (6-3), setting up a sectional-final matchup with Perry Meridian, the program who had defeated the Rebels in four straight sectional finals. Senior William Bawi scored on a header off of an assist from senior Juan Gallo and the Rebel defense made the score hold up for a 1-0 victory over the Falcons. The Rebels moved on to defeat eighth-ranked Castle 1-0 in the opening round of the regional before falling 1-0 to Bloomington South in the regional final.

The team finished with a 13-6-2 record and won six of its final eight games. Their 13 wins included four Circle City Conference wins, which allowed the Rebels to finish second in the conference with a 4-1 record. It’s the program’s best conference finish in the three seasons of conference play.

Senior goalkeeper Daniel Woodruff earned All-Circle City Conference honors for the second straight year and was named the team’s MVP. Senior midfielder Robert Thang joined Woodruff on the all-conference team and was a first team All-District selection by the Indiana Soccer Coaches Association (ISCA). Thang was a three-time all-conference player during his varsity career and was also voted to the all-state third team by the ISCA. Junior midfielder Vince Agramonte was also an all-conference pick, as well as making second team All-District and being named an ISCA Top Team Player. Senior forward Bryan Guerrero and junior defender Aidan Newett joined their teammates on the all-conference team. Senior defender Wes Cunningham was named the team’s mental attitude award winner.

Woodruff, Thang, Bawi and senior forward Mateo Gonzalez all concluded four-year varsity careers. Woodruff, Cunningham, Gonzalez and juniors Sam Jordan, Garrett Simmerman, Kai Wisler and Joe Gantner were all picked to the Academic All-State team by the state’s coaches.