Boys Lacrosse

Boys Lacrosse Team

2018 Review

The boys lacrosse team had high expectations going into this spring with many returning players who had started playing the game in elementary school. After a slow start against three of the top 12 teams in the state, the team reeled off seven consecutive wins after spring break for the longest winning streak in program history. The run featured an 8-4 win over Southport that earned the Mayor’s Cup and for the first time ever, wins over both Columbus North and Columbus East.

The Rebels earned their first-ever win over Center Grove. In a game that will live forever in Roncalli history, senior Vinny Romano scored the game winning goal in the first overtime as his father, an assistant coach, watched from the sidelines. This had been a rescheduled game. Vinny Sr. had suffered a heart attack on the sidelines during the originally scheduled game on April 24th. He was revived by the Roncalli athletic training staff. It was an amazing chain of events and a blessing that he was in the place he was to get such great care and support.

This team finished with a 7-6 record, but will be remembered for their actions the night Vinny Sr. fell ill.

“An event like that happens and it’s hard to know how someone will react,” said head coach Sean Cross. “Our students reacted as one team. Immediately they dropped to their knees in a circle and prayed. They prayed the whole time even after they were told their coach was alright. They prayed with the referees and they prayed with the Center Grove team, as well as the coaches. Never as a coach have I admired a team like this team.”

Junior goalie Nolan Hoffman was named the team’s MVP. He earned second team all-state honors and was selected to the All-Circle City Conference team for the second straight year. He also won the team’s FIVE award, which is the player who most exemplifies Faith/Integrity/Values/Effort. Senior Evan Scheifelbein and junior Erik Allstatt joined Hoffman on the all-conference team. Scheifelbein led the state in ground balls (175) and was nominated for Indiana state player of the year. Allstatt led the team in points (goals and assists) with 54 and set a program single-season record with 32 assists. Vinny Romano led the team with 34 goals, finishing third all-time on the program’s scoring list. He also won the team’s mental attitude award. Sophomore Malachy Davis won the team’s most improved award and senior Chris Walsh earned the sportsmanship award.