Girls Lacrosse

Girls Lacrosse Team

2019 Review

The girls lacrosse team played its second season as a program and its first competing as a varsity team in the Indiana Girls Lacrosse Association and the Circle City Conference, the top lacrosse conference in Indiana. The team returned 85 percent of last year’s roster and 50 percent of the players had previous lacrosse experience. By comparison, last year’s team had just two players with previous lacrosse experience out of the 28 on the roster. The building momentum in the program also spurred the creation of Junior Rebel teams in the younger age groups across the south side.

Sophomore Hannah Cushing was named the team’s MVP, while junior Alyson McElwain earned the team’s mental attitude award. Seniors Abby Leister, Maggie Stanley and Kaylee TenBarge were all named first team All-Sectional 7. The trio was also named All-Regional Class 1A South honorable mention. Juniors Julia Gorski and Alyson McElwain and sophomores Hannah Cushing, Lucy Houser and Amelia Niezgodski were all chosen honorable mention All-Sectional 7. McElwain, senior Cassie Yohler and junior Cassidy Cross were honored by the Indiana Girls Lacrosse Association (INGLA) as academic all-state players.